Stop Wasting Time

Hello friends, and welcome to the Procrastination Station – home of your host, ME!

As you’ve noticed, I haven’t written in a few weeks. I actually have had this post mostly written for a month now – but put off finishing it because of my new job.

When I am focused on work, I can be the queen of procrastination with everything else. I always think I’ll work better and more efficiently under the pressure of deadlines (i.e. posting every weekend). I say, “I’ll do it tomorrow.” Then tomorrow comes … and I wave as it passes by.

But when a deadline is flexible, it’s easy to say, “I don’t wanna!”

Image result for part time gif

And it’s hard to sit down on a beautiful day and blog or read instead of swim. But I always feel tons lighter when I finish my work before my deadlines roll around.

So, here are a few ways to be productive with your time

  1. Make a list. The first thing I do in the morning is make a “To Do” list. I ask: What are my goals for the day? Where are my deadlines? What is my number one priority? Are these long-term goals? Once my list is in order, I choose approximately five tasks to accomplish for the day.
    Image result for list gif
  2. Stop pinning and start trimming your list. Pinterest, Tumblr, Facebook, and other social media platforms are life-suckers. I can get lost for hours looking at @mytherapistsays and @adultingishard memes. Though they are hilarious, I know I can be a thousand times more productive if I shut down the apps and do my work. Even if I do have a ton on my “To Do” list, I could be working out or applying for jobs instead of Internet surfing.
    Image result for social media gif
  3. Find your concentration method. Everyone works better under different circumstances. For me, my hair has to be out of my face. I have ponytails strewn about my room so I can tie my hair into a messy bun on top of my head. If a concentration technique doesn’t work for you anymore, try something new. My old focus technique was to put on headphones and not plug them into anything. It worked wonders in my internship, but now it doesn’t work as well since I’m in a different environment.
    Image result for concentrate gif
  4. Set aside time for fun. If you’ve followed my blog for a long time, you know I’m a workaholic. But there are days when I feel like:
    Image result for social media gifDon’t be afraid to say, “I am not doing any more work after dinner.” Everyone needs time to relax and have fun. But, don’t procrastinate during your work time.
  5. Don’t panic. It’s easy to complain that there just aren’t enough hours in the day to finish what we need to do, but the truth is that there will always be more work. There is no need to psych yourself out. Get excited that you are able to accomplish all that you do.

Procrastination is a real problem – “put off today what you can do tomorrow” and all that. But I wish you all the best of luck in being productive. Kick butt, take names, and get crap done!

What are some of your concentration techniques? Share in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

