How to Take Advice … You Don’t Want to Hear

frustrated-758722_960_720When you graduate, EVERYONE has an opinion on how you should take your next step. You should take the first job you’re offered. You shouldn’t move out of your parents’ house until you are financially stable. You’re too young to get married. You should work for my company instead.

There are days when too many people offer me advice and I think, “I’m going to pull my hair out and give them a few choice words.”

But instead I always smile through clenched teeth and take the advice like a champ.

I want to blow it off. I want to learn and my own mistakes sometimes. I want the voices telling me how I should live my life to ‘poof!’ disappear.

But like Chris Young’s song Voices, all the advice seems to stick with me.

And that’s a good thing.

When someone says…

Image result for gif advice

Here are a few things to remember.

  1. People want to help. Your family and friends are not out to ruin your life. When your parents pull you aside for a “real life” talk, they just want what’s best for you. They love you. They have high hopes for their little boy or little girl.
  2. They aren’t treating you like a child. Sometimes our brains flags comments as condescending. It may seem like someone is talking down to you, like they think you’re a child. Ignore that little Red Alert. They know you are not a child, or else they wouldn’t be sharing quality advice; they are trying to empathize with where you are.
    Image result for gif advice
  3. Though the advice may not apply now, save it for later. Don’t be afraid to store the knowledge for later. You never know when it could come in handy. Put it on the back burner for now, and when you need it most, those words will come back to you.
  4. You don’t have to take their advice. As Jennifer Lopez said,

    “I only do what my gut tells me to. I think it’s smart to listen to other people’s advice, but at the end of the day, you’re the only one who can tell you what’s right for you.”

    People share advice based on their experiences or opinions, but your life may not match theirs. Take advice with a grain of salt. But be kind, smile, and thank them for their input. Preferably more pleasantly than Sherlock.

Image result for thanks for your advice sherlock

And that is my advice on taking advice. Best of luck, my friends!

Leave a Reply

