Why You Should Relax This Easter

Hello, friends, and happy Easter to you all!

As I told you a few weeks ago, I’m a workaholic. All I had to do this week was work a few serving shifts, yet I was stressed beyond all belief. Within 24 hours, I had four people tell me to relax. FOUR! My response was the same every time:

What is relaxing? How do I relax?17966995_10212509617273599_7883269976019132357_o.jpg

My sassy response was meant to be a joke, but it held some truth. I don’t know how to chill out.

So yesterday I pulled out a blanket and laid in the sun. Doing nothing. For almost two hours. My sister had just cut the grass and yet I was surrounded by dandelions. And it reminded me of a story.

A story of life. A conquer of death.

I’m a Christian, and the Easter story should give a reason to relax.

easter-2013281_1920

For those of you who don’t know, the gist of the story is that a man who was the Son of God sacrificed himself to take away all the wrongs that humans would do. Easter morning two thousand (or so) years ago, he was raised from the dead with the promise to give all who believed in him new life after their deaths. A life without pain or sadness.

downloadThis may seem like a myth to some or a joke to others. No one can survive death. No one can walk out of a tomb after three days. No one can say, “You are free from your wrongs” and promise you a life after this one.

But this Easter, I can relax because I don’t have to worry about what comes next. I don’t have to stress over the work I need to get done or the job I need or the husband that I haven’t found yet or that secret that nags me to feel guilty.

I can relax because I believe.

Do you have a reason to relax this Easter? What is yours?

Leave a Reply

