5 Questions to Ask During a Job Interview

I hope you enjoyed last week’s blog swap! Kaitlin and I relate on so many levels with our early graduation experience. Check out her letter if you haven’t yet. If you missed my Happily Ever After (After College) post on Here’s to Twenty-Something, follow this link.

I don’t know about you, but I’m starting to get the hang of this interview thing. On Monday, I interviewed for a digital coordinator position. As usual, there was a flow to the interview: start with introductions, jump into general interview questions like “Why did you apply for this position?”, and then dig deeper into your experience and background. After that, comes the dreaded question:

“Do you have any questions for us?”

Image result for interview gif

My thought from my first interview: Uh…. I thought this interview was about you asking me questions….

The instinct is to reply “no” as sweetly as possible and get out of there, but resist that reaction.

Always – ALWAYS – have questions prepared for your interviewers. Use details from your pre-interview research and during interview feedback in your questions. This shows you’ve prepared for the interview and you’ve been paying attention to what the interviewer has been saying.

Here are five of my interview questions that I usually ask my interviewers:

  1. Would you please describe your ideal candidate for this position? Get a perspective on what your interviewers want. Usually they will include personality details and skill requirements. This information will allow you to tweak your future answers toward what they are looking for.
  2. In your opinions, what would a day look like for someone in this position? I usually preface this question by first explaining my understanding of their job description and saying something like, “Now, I know every day will be a little different, but….” Learning the interviewers’ perspectives on the roles may keep you from getting to your new job and doing this:
    Image result for interview gif
  3. What is the community of employees like in this company? In this department? Show the interviewers that you care about getting involved with their employees. You want to see if this company is a good fit for you as much as they want a good fit for the company.
  4. Why have you stayed with this company? Interview_-_HSG_TALENTS_ConferenceGive your interviewers an opportunity to share their passions for the company. Push them to be specific and listen intently to their stories. This will also give you something to follow-up with in a “thank you” email.
  5. What is your timeline for filling this position, and how many applicants are you interviewing? This may be the most important question you could ask. Are you one of five or one of five hundred candidates? Will you have a job in two weeks or have to wait two months to start?

Try to avoid the yes or no questions unless they are clarifying questions. I suggest having three to five questions prepared.

Good luck, fellow interviewees!

Need more question inspiration? Check out Monster’s “9 Good Questions to Ask in an Interview”.

What questions do you ask in an interview?

3 thoughts on “5 Questions to Ask During a Job Interview

  1. Kaitlin says:

    I always ask what is the one thing you think someone needs to succeed in this position/the field as a whole. That helps me become a better journalist after leaving the interview whether I get the job or not.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

