Workaholic Syndrome

Image result for tiana gif

Friends, I am Tiana. 110 percent.

I haven’t slept a ton for the past couple nights because I have WAAAAY too much on my plate. I am constantly thinking about my four book reviews that I still need to write, my messy room, my job search, and my next work shift.

I even dream about rolling silverware.

My college friends used to have fits that I was a workaholic (35 hours of serving per week, plus homework and writing). I thought that I could pick up those extra hours with new jobs post-college. But life didn’t work that way.

Image result for juggle workI tried to pick up another part time job last week. I worked 10:30 a.m. to 11 p.m. with an hour break for lunch. It lasted four days. I couldn’t keep up.

I know I have a problem. I love work. I love keeping busy. I love feeling accomplished. And I love helping people.

And I have a problem saying no. I pick up shifts for my coworkers even when I can’t spare the time. If I have to turn them down, I feel guilty.

So from one workaholic to another, here are three pieces of advice.

  1. Make time for yourself. Take yourself for a massage. (We both know we need it.) Catch up with friends. Catch a new movie. (I’m excited for Beauty and the Beast!) Go out for a good meal or cook something fresh at home. Even save time in your busy schedule to work out and rest.
    Image result for tiana gif
  2. Don’t work your life away. It’s easy to get caught up in the daily grind. Try to leave your work at work. Can’t do it? Reserve a space in your house or apartment where work is never allowed to be. Rest there for an hour every day.
  3. Stop thinking ahead. By the time you are done with one project, you’re already moving on to the next. Take time to breathe and reward yourself for your accomplishments, even if it’s just getting off your tired feet for 10 minutes.

If you have Workaholic Syndrome like me, maybe it’s time for you to Find an Outlet.

Or you can veg out a bit on sites like BuzzFeed or I Waste So Much Time or YouTube.

Or answer my weekly question(s) in the comments below! How big of a workaholic are you? Stories are appreciated.

**SIDE NOTE: Happy birthday to my dad! Love you!

Leave a Reply

