Declining a Job Offer

You did it! You worked your butt off. You sent out 100 applications, interviewed with five companies (and follow-up interviewed with two), and finally got one job offer. This is the day you’ve been waiting for – heck, it may feel like the happiest day of your life!

But then you read the fine print….

Image result for gif magnifying glass

This job isn’t what you wanted. Maybe, the pay is too little for big-city life. Or the company doesn’t have PTO (paid-time off) or healthcare benefits. Or you see a better opportunity out there.

Regardless of your reason, this offer is a no-go. But how do you reject the one offer you have?

From my experience, turning down any offer isn’t easy – but if the job’s not what you want, decline.

woman-865111_1920.jpgMy first offer was sent by email, so I declined by email. A decline email doesn’t have to be long – only three or four sentences. Simply, thank the offerer (a specific person) for the company’s offer and interview. Clearly decline the offer. Give a brief reason why you are declining. Wish their company good luck in filling the position.

Need more guidance? Check out a template:


Dear [Mr./Ms. Last Name],

Thank you very much for offering me the opportunity to work at [Company name]. Unfortunately, I will not be accepting the [specific name of position] position as [reason].

Once again, I’d like to express my gratitude for bringing me in for an interview. You have my best wishes in finding another suitable applicant.

Sincerely,

[Your Name]


Image result for dream bigI hope you don’t have to use this email template. My wish for you is that the first offer you receive is for the job you want. But life doesn’t always work that way. Keep applying and don’t get down. There will be another offer soon.

Are you considering a job offer? Check out Inc.’s The 10 Times You Should Decline a Job Offer to see if you should seek a different offer.

Do you have a job offer story? Share in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “Declining a Job Offer

  1. Kaitlin says:

    I LOVE this. (Not to toot my own horn 😉 ) but I had to decline a couple job offers before I found the one I wanted. It was hard because this was my first job so I felt like the people were like, “who is she? She thinks she can do better out of college?” But it was totally the right choice for me. So often I let myself get guilted into things because I don’t know how to say no or don’t want to hurt someone’s feelings but a job is definitely not something to mess around with.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nichole Parks says:

    Wish I’d had this guidance when I was job searching! I remember a. . . Well, a glumness really in sending my first decline letter.

    Sometimes a decline letter leads to the company asking you to counter. 🙂 That’s the fun part.

    Like

Leave a Reply

