ALL Year Resolutions

Image result for new year's resolution gifHappy New Year, everyone! I hope you’ve all enjoyed the beginning of the 2017. May your year be filled with crazy adventures, fun, and joy.

With ringing in the new year, a lot of people have asked me about my New Year’s resolutions. I’ve told some people my vague pipe dreams, but the truth is I don’t really have one this year.

I know, shame on me, but I always break my BIG resolutions within the first month – if not the first week. I miss one day and think, “That’s okay. I’ll work twice as hard tomorrow.” Then the next day rolls around and I “accidentally” miss it again. Pretty soon I see how far behind I’ve gotten, and I lack the motivation to try anymore. I quit.

Image result for new year's resolution gif

When I don’t meet my goals, I feel awful. I feel like a failure. I feel like that little resolution gets in the way of me living how I want.

So this year, I’m trying something different. I am starting my ALL Year resolutions: small resolutions that I can strive for daily without the pressure of hitting a deadline. I want to be closer to God, so I’m reading my Bible and praying more. I want to keep connected to friends, so I’m texting them with I think of them and being kind to ones who are near. I want to be healthier, so I’m eating more salads and trying to work out.

These mini resolutions have no amount of time that I need to dedicate or goal that I need to hit. I didn’t set a weight limit or quiet time or outreach count. This year I’m resolving to be a better me by being me. I want to live in the moment and help people around me when they need me. In summary, this is me:

Image result for new year's resolution gif

Thanks for reading! Do you have a New Year’s or ALL Year resolution that you’d like to share? I’d love to hear about it in the comments!

Leave a Reply

