A Must-read Book

adulting_zps9cdafc95If you’re completely lost at how to be an adult (or know someone who is lost), you need to check out Adulting: How to become a grown-up in 468 easy(ish) steps. I originally bought this book as a graduation gift for my friend Nichole, but as soon as she told me about the content, I went out and bought myself a copy. The only thing I regret is that I didn’t buy Adulting before renting my first apartment.

Author Kelly Williams Brown breaks down beginner adulthood into basic “Adulting 101” steps. These simple steps are organized into topic chapters, e.g. “Love” and “Domesticity,” that make it easier for readers to find specific advice. I started by reading this book straight through like a novel, but now I am using it as a reference book to overcome my grown-up anxiety.

Reader, if you’re easily offended (by swearing especially) or don’t appreciate sass, think twice before ordering this book. It has great content, but the tone and presentation of the information may come across as insulting to some people. I recommend it wholeheartedly nonetheless; it is the best book I’ve found on how to navigate moving out on your own. (Parents, if you’re reading this, buy copies for your young adults. They will appreciate the gift soon enough.)

Even though this book is directed toward women, most of the steps apply to everyone. Kelly gives suggestions on how best to clean your apartment, what kinds of kitchen utensils to buy, and so much more. She also includes some quick and easy recipes for ambitious young adults.

Kelly, if you happen to read this:

Image result for kelly williams brown gif

2 thoughts on “A Must-read Book

  1. Nichole Parks says:

    What I loved about it was the format. It’s really not meant to be read through but to be used more as an index. The short entries make it a friendly read to busy new adults.

    As I was going through it, I couldn’t help but dog ear pages, color in the little doodles with colored pencils, and making notes on the side. 🙂

    Thanks so much for the gift!

    Like

    • Rebecca says:

      I’m glad it was so useful! All of the doodles made me want to sketch, too. And I would ask the questions at the end of each chapter around the dinner table. Everyone had such unique answers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

